BrainSTEPS

Each year, approximately 4,000 of Pennsylvania’s children survive severe traumatic brain injuries significant enough to require hospitalization. Many are left with life-altering difficulties in physical, cognitive, or behavioral functioning.

BrainSTEPS is working to make sure that the individuals who provide educational support to children with brain injury have an understanding of brain injury, the resulting challenges, and the supports and interventions that will help these students achieve educational success through graduation.

BrainSTEPS Consulting Teams are comprised of professionals from varying disciplines who have received extensive training on educating children with brain injuries. When a child who attends a Pennsylvania public school has experienced educational effects following a brain injury, a BrainSTEPS team from the child’s county of residence will act as consultants to coordinate services and provide basic training and resources to colleagues and families.

BrainSTEPS Information

Make a Referral

Advocacy and Support Groups

Advisory Board on Autism & Related Disorders (ABOARD)
800-827-9385
http://www.aboard.org

The ARC of PA
800-692-7258
717-234-2621
http://www.thearcpa.org

Fayette ARC
866-438-9042
http://www.arcfayette.org

Greene ARC
724-627-5511
http://www.waynesburg.edu

The ARC of Washington County
724-222-1435

Autism Society of America—PA Chapter
610-358-5256 (Philadelphia & Suburbs)
412-856-7223 (Pittsburgh)
http://www.asaphilly.org

Children with Attention Deficit Disorders
800-233-4050
301-306-7070 (National Office)
http://www.chadd.org

Disability Rights Network of Pennsylvania
800-692-7443
717-236-8110
http://www.drnpa.org

Easter Seal Society
412-281-7244 ext. 223
http://westernpa.easterseals.com

Epilepsy Foundation
800-361-5885
http://www.efwe.org

Learning Disabilities Association of PA
412-334-0224
http://www.ldaamerica.org

Southwestern Local Task Force
800-328-6481 ext. 205

National Alliance on Mental Health
412-366-3788
http://namipa.nami.org

Muscular Dystrophy Association
800-572-1717
http://www.mda.org

Parent Education and Advocacy Leadership (PEAL) Center
866-950-1040
http://www.pealcenter.org

Parent Education Network
800-522-5827
717-600-0100
http://www.parentednet.org

Tourette Syndrome Society
800-990-3300
7174-337-1134
http://www.patsainc.org

United Cerebral Palsy (UCP) of Western Pennsylvania
724-836-593
http://www.ucp.org

Team Members

Melissa Hunter
BrainSTEPS Team Chair
724-938-3241 ext. 721
melissa.hunter@iu1.org

Amanda Adkins
724-938-3241 ext. 617
amanda.adkins@iu1.org

Adrienne John
724-873-5202
adrienne.john@iu1.org

Dawn Fredericks
724-239-5911 ext. 1122
dawn.fredericks@iu1.org

Emily Walentosky
724-785-58001 ext. 2420
Emily.Walentosky@iu1.org

Lesa Vivio
412-401-0428
LesaVivio@gmail.com

Michelle Moore
724-785-5800 ext. 2127
michelle.moore@iu1.org

Pattian Berton
paberton@comcast.net

Leigh Dennick
Director of IU1 Special Education Services
724-938-3241 ext. 273
leigh.dennick@iu1.org